Kagz Tridents V 2.0

A place to download and discuss Kagz's mods. No adult content please.

Moderator: Kagz

Kagz Tridents V 2.0

Postby Kagz » Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:58 am

....KAGZ Tridents V2.0 ......



Only Morrowind requ for this mod.


This mod brings 4 tridents into the game.
There is a Silver Trident, a Daedric Trident, a Chitin Trident and an Ebony Trident.
I made the tridents out of the ingame spears in 3DS Max.
I have made the stats for them, just a bit stronger than the spear versions,didnt want to overdo it.

You can find the tridents on a dead armourer,who is lying just outside Ald Ruhn.
I have enclosed a screenie to make it easier to find the corpse.

Thats about it basically, except to say that you can use these tridents in your mods,
just give me a mention in your release thread.

***********
There are no textures included as the tridents use game tex,that you already have.


***************
Version 2.0 Changes
***************
I have updated this mod, to now contain an additional 4, One Handed Tridents.
This means you can now equip a Shield, at the same time as the Trident.
Everything about the new version is exactly the same as the old one,
apart from adding in the 4 new Tridents.
The skeleton now contains 8 Tridents.





Extract the mod to data files it will be fine.

If you are already running my old Trident mod,
then extract to data files as normal and hit " Yes To All ",to overwrite everything.
Then just delete the old Kagz Tridents ESP.

The mod is 450 kb unzipped and WINRAR is requ to download.
The mod was cleaned with Tesame and collated with TES Files 3.



MGE Screenshot 3.jpg

MGE Screenshot 4.jpg

MGE Screenshot 5.jpg

MGE Screenshot 6.jpg

MGE Screenshot 7.jpg

Dead Armourer Location.jpg




Clean Kagz Tridents V 2.0.rar
(290.32 KiB) Downloaded 35 times




:drunk:
User avatar
Kagz
Protector
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 6:41 pm
Gender: Not disclosed

Re: Kagz Tridents V 2.0

Postby DARoot » Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:19 am

Pretty Nifty, Kagz! Thanks! I'll use 'em.
:biggrin:
[You check out Adul's "throwing net" yet?]
:unsure:
DARoot
DARoot
 

Re: Kagz Tridents V 2.0

Postby Kagz » Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:40 am

DARoot wrote:Pretty Nifty, Kagz! Thanks! I'll use 'em.
:biggrin:
[You check out Adul's "throwing net" yet?]
:unsure:
DARoot


Thanks :shades: i thought it was the logical thing to do,
after making the one hand spears. :biggrin:

Yes, i have got the net but unfortunately its not really what i was looking for.
I wanted a net that is square or rectangular shaped, or even round,
that would drape over the arm and hand type thing.
Then it would make more sense in being used as a shield it think.
i can make the mesh n/p, but i cant do alphas, so i wouldnt be able to make it net/like looking.
It would just be an opaque/solid shape. :frustrated:

I will try to adjust Aduls mesh in MAX again,
so that its held by the actual net rather than a cord/rope,
if you get what i mean.
I can do that again n/p in Max, but when i take it into Max,
i will lose the Alphas and it will be an opaque/solid mesh.
So i have to try to get it alpha'd again.
As i said i cant do Alphas, as in making the image file in photoshop.
Due to that, i have never tried to use Alpha 's in Max,
so i am a newb so to speak in all areas of Alpha's. :sad:

:drunk:
User avatar
Kagz
Protector
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 6:41 pm
Gender: Not disclosed

Re: Kagz Tridents V 2.0

Postby DARoot » Tue Mar 20, 2012 11:15 am

Hmmmm...
Just thinking out loud here ....
Suppose you located an existing shield mesh that was already "alpha-enabled"...
(or anything else that could be set-up as a shield)
Then, through texturing with transparancies, make it irregular and "draped" over the left hand/arm?
Then, through scripting, produce the "burden" effect on you opponent when the net is "thrown" (or substitute a "weapon version" for the "shield version" for use offensively rather than defensively?

Incidentally, somebody (MJY?) made some "gladiator helmets" and armor some years ago, which I have still on one of my back-up disks. Kinda crude and clunky, but a start.
If you wish to pursue your "gladiator muse," I'd be happy to find them and send you copies.
:biggrin:
DARoot
DARoot
 

Re: Kagz Tridents V 2.0

Postby Kagz » Tue Mar 20, 2012 12:13 pm

DARoot wrote:Then, through texturing with transparancies, make it irregular and "draped" over the left hand/arm?


Again, i wouldnt be able to do that, as i cant make the transparency/alpha texture images. :frustrated:
Its the same with all the hair i have made over the years,
it all has no trans/alphas, so it looks shit lol. :sad:
If i was only proficient at it, then i could make some beautiful hair and other models,
that need trans/alpha.

As usual with me, if i cant do something easily or fairly easily myself,
then i tend to abandon it and move on.
Better me doing that, than getting stuck in a rut,
trying to do something i know i cant do, at this point in time. :shrug:


Never mind tho as i have loads of ideas for other stuff, that i know i can do. :biggrin:



:drunk:
User avatar
Kagz
Protector
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 6:41 pm
Gender: Not disclosed

Re: Kagz Tridents V 2.0

Postby DARoot » Tue Mar 20, 2012 1:37 pm

OK, I'll probably go out on a limb here, and get roundly chastised for it...
:whistling:
GIMP2 (available as a free download) is a graphics program that allows VERY easy editing or addition of "Alpha" channels (and transparency) to textures. However, the mesh itself must allow "Alpha" channels, and, like you seem to be saying, I have no idea how to implement that in existing meshes.
:shrug:
I am, I think, fairly proficient in using it, so if there was something you absolutely, positively wanted to add transparency to, (and, not just me, but others on Wolflore), you probably need only ask.
:shades:
I'm with you [and, with one of Elaura's Golden Rules] -- "If you want it, make it yourself" (and if you can't, just don't bother...) But, you do know that there are people here that might [MIGHT] be able to help you out, if you really, really want that, Eh?
:biggrin:
DARoot
DARoot
 

Re: Kagz Tridents V 2.0

Postby neildarkstar » Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:35 pm

Y'know, it's fairly easy to add alpha's in nifskope to existing meshes... Just sayin', eh? A lot of my "Junk Yard" mod was a matter of making things appear by removing parts that way.
"If you want to make God laugh, tell Him your plans." - Movie "Flypaper"
User avatar
neildarkstar
Jac's Hero of the Day
Jac's Hero of the Day
 
Posts: 2844
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 7:57 pm

Re: Kagz Tridents V 2.0

Postby DARoot » Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:53 pm

Damn, Neildarkster!
If y'all know how to add "alpha channels" to existing meshes in NifScope, post a Tutorial!
We can all benefit!
:biggrin:
DARoot
DARoot
 

Re: Kagz Tridents V 2.0

Postby neildarkstar » Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:43 pm

I don't know if we're talking about the same thing exactly, but...

Let's say you have a section of wall, you want to have a see-through hole in it. You load the texture to an editor, erase part of the texture to form the hole, and make it transparent.Use nifskope or niftexture to add the new texture to the mesh.

(Note, I load the original texture in photoshop, then open a "new" object and select transparent on the pop up that describes the new object. I then copy and paste the texture to the new window)

When you load it up in the CS or in-Game you have your normal wall texture, but the hole is filled with white.You can't see through it, eh?

So, load the mesh up in nifskope, (get it to show the texture and you can see the white "hole"). right click on the white, and select add property, then click alpha property and you'll see the white disappear, save. All done.

Maybe this isn't what you wanted, but...

The way Kagz described the issue it sounds like he's using Adul's stuff which probably has the transparency, but it's lost when he moves it to his mesh. adding alpha in nifskope will usually restore it.

Sorry folks, I'm not very good at directions...

EDIT: Forgot to mention, sometimes you have to add it to both sides of the mesh.
"If you want to make God laugh, tell Him your plans." - Movie "Flypaper"
User avatar
neildarkstar
Jac's Hero of the Day
Jac's Hero of the Day
 
Posts: 2844
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 7:57 pm

Re: Kagz Tridents V 2.0

Postby Kagz » Tue Mar 20, 2012 5:03 pm

Ok, what i said was :
i cant do Alphas, as in making the image file in photoshop.
Due to that, i have "never tried to use Alpha 's in Max",
so i am a newb so to speak in all areas of Alpha's.


Therefore because i have never tried to do it, i obviously cant do it,
with the knowledge i have of the subject.
I have no doubt that if i had an alpha texture made up,
i could map it to the mesh in Max, after a whole lot of experimentation and trialing.
Thats the way i do things, the way i learn.
No-one told me how to use Max, i figured all i know about it myself,
through my experiments and endeavours and years of trying stuff.

Now if on the other hand i knew all about alphas,
then when i was learning Max, i would have learned how to use them in Max.
I once years ago tried to make an alpha texture to use on a chest/armour nif.
I got all these different how to do's from the web and went at it,
took me days to finally make an image that worked,
but it was so bad that i was disgusted and vowed to kick alphas in the ass.
I dont like doing stuff that i cant do, as i get very annoyed and angry,
being an ill natured scots bastard, so i veer away from stuff i know will get me going.



:drunk:
User avatar
Kagz
Protector
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 6:41 pm
Gender: Not disclosed

Next

Return to Kagz's Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

  • Advertisement